This website uses cookies to help us understand the way visitors use our website. We can't identify you with them and we don't share the data with anyone else. Find out more in our privacy policy.
03 November 2016

WFTV members & winners amongst BIFA nominees

The nominations for the 2016 BIFAs (British Independent Film Awards) have been announced, with WFTV members and awards winners amongst the nominees.


Andrea Arnold, winner of WFTV’s 2010 Deluxe Director Award and 2006 Creative Originality Award, is nominated for Best Director and Best Screenplay for American Honey, which is also up for Best British Independent Film. Its stars, Sasha Lane and Shia LeBeouf, are also nominated, for Best Actress and Best Actor, while its cinematographer, Robbie Ryan, is nominated for Outstanding Achievement in Craft.

American Honey

WFTV member Jennifer Eriksson is part of the team nominated for Best British Short for Jacked, while WFTV member Jane Gull directed feature My Feral Heart starring Steve Brandon, who is nominated for both Most Promising Newcomer and Best Actor.

Good friend of WFTV Hope Dickson Leach is nominated for Debut Screewriter for her feature The Levelling, while previous WFTV Awards presenter Gemma Arterton is nominated for Best Supporting Actress for The Girl With All the Gifts.

Other female nominees include:

Best Screenplay

  • Rachel Tunnard for Adult Life Skills
Best Actress
  • Jodie Whittaker for Adult Life Skills
  • Kate Dickie for Couple in a Hole
  • Hayley Squires for I, Daniel Blake
  • Narges Rashidi for Under the Shadow
Best Supporting Actress
  • Shana Swash for My Feral Heart
  • Naomie Harris for Our Kind of Traitor
  • Avin Manshadi for Under the Shadow
  • Terry Pheto for A United Kingdom
Most Promising Newcomer
  • Sennia Nanua for The Girl With all the Gifts
  • Hayley Squires for I, Daniel Blake
  • Letitia Wright for Urban Hymn
The Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director
  • Rachel Tunnard for Adult Life Skills
  • Alice Lowe for Prevenge
Outstanding Achievement in Craft
  • Shaheen Baig for Free Fire
Best Documentary
  • Louise Osmond and Rebecca O’Brien for Versus: The Life and Films of Ken Loach
Best International Independent Film
  • Maren Ade for Toni Erdmann
Breakthrough Producer
  • Camille Gatin for The Girl With All The Gifts
  • Dionne Walker for The Hard Stop
Debut Screenwriter
  • Rachel Tunnard for Adult Life Skills

The BIFAs will take place on 4 Dec and will be hosted by Jennifer Saunders. Click here for the full nominations list.