This website uses cookies to help us understand the way visitors use our website. We can't identify you with them and we don't share the data with anyone else. Find out more in our privacy policy.
17 December 2018

Inaugural Recipients of WFTV Pat Llewellyn Bursary Announced

As exclusively revealed in Broadcast last week, the first three recipients of the WFTV Pat Llewellyn Bursary Fund are Megan Jenkins, Victoria Mapplebeck and Cheryl Richardson. The bursary is a unique initiative set up in memory of award-winning producer Pat Llewellyn (pictured) who was renowned for discovering and developing new talent. It is funded by the BBC, Channel 4, ITV, All3Media and the Welsh government and provides development funding and support for women with the very best and most creative  entertainment or factual TV projects – regardless of experience – to enable them to make their projects happen.

To celebrate Pat’s Welsh heritage, there is a dedicated part of the fund for Welsh applicants only. This year’s Welsh winner is primary school teacher Megan Jenkins with her novel take on children’s TV, a wildlife series presented by her nine-year-old son. The two other winners are documentary director Victoria Mapplebeck with a project that uses archive footage from her mobile phone to produce an autobiographical feature doc about her life, and producer Cheryl Richardson with a dating show that winds back the years and  follows a group seeking romance the old-fashioned way. Each of the women will receive £10,000 to help them to develop their project further, as well as be allocated an industry mentor and the chance to share their idea with key decision makers.

Liz Tucker, Chair of WFTV said “We are so pleased to be able to announce the winners of the first three Pat Llewellyn bursaries. WFTV received so many fantastic entries, it was very hard to come up with the final names, but the passion, creativity and commitment of these three women really stood out and  impressed all the awarding committee. We are really excited by these women’s vision and look forward to turning their vision into TV reality and a commission.”

The Pat Llewellyn Bursary Fund will be distributed over a five year period. Applications for the next bursary round open in May 2019.