This website uses cookies to help us understand the way visitors use our website. We can't identify you with them and we don't share the data with anyone else. Find out more in our privacy policy.
12 December 2016

Heather Phillipson wins Jarman Award, Lucy Harrison wins Jules Wright Prize

Heather Phillipson has won the coveted annual Film London Jarman Award, announced at a special event at London’s Whitechapel Gallery. She receives £10,000 prize money, as well as a commission for Channel 4’s Random Acts.

The Award was presented by charismatic and outspoken performer Toyah Willcox, who began her film career in 1977 when film director Derek Jarman offered her the role of Mad in his seminal punk epic Jubilee.

Heather Phillipson was chosen from a distinguished shortlist of artists featuring Sophia Al Maria, Cécile B Evans, Shona Illingworth, Mikhail Karikis and Rachel Maclean. All six artists will receive a film commission for Channel 4’s short-form arts strand Random Acts.

Adrian Wootton, Chief Executive of Film London and the British Film Commission, said: “We’re delighted to announce Heather Phillipson as this year’s winner of the Jarman Award for a body of work that is complex, anarchic and deftly views global events through a very personal lens. She collages images, sounds and words with the sense of pacing and rhythm as you might expect from someone who is also a poet and musician.”

The Jules Wright Prize of £5,000 for Female Creative Technicians, was won by editor Lucy Harris. The other shortlisted candidates were Nse Asuquo, Ariadna Fatjo-Vilas and Sue Giovanni. Harris has worked with artists such as Rosalind Nashashibi, Bridget Smith and Alia Syed, and was praised for her facility for sharing her extensive knowledge of different editing platforms and approaches and for her profound understanding of the artistic process that enables her to be particularly supportive and insightful.

The Jules Wright Prize was presented by Kate Kinninmont MBE, Chief Executive of WFTV (UK) who emphasised the importance of recognising female creative technicians across all areas of the visual arts. In its inaugural year, 2015, the prize was focused on women cinematographers, this year it was on women editors, and in 2017 it will feature women working in sound.

Both winners will also receive one year’s complimentary membership of Women in Film & Television (UK).