This website uses cookies to help us understand the way visitors use our website. We can't identify you with them and we don't share the data with anyone else. Find out more in our privacy policy.
14 May 2018

BAFTA TV Awards Success for Kate Adie, Three Girls and This Country

WFTV Award winners were amongst those celebrating at this year’s BAFTA TV Awards, which took place on Sunday 13 May.

Esteemed journalist Kate Adie was the recipient of this year’s BAFTA Fellowship, the Academy’s highest honour. Adie is best known for her long service as the BBC’s Chief News Correspondent and won the WFTV Contribution to the Medium Award in 1992.

The team behind BBC drama Three Girls – who picked up a record-breaking four Awards at 2017’s WFTV Awards – won the Mini Series Award. The three-part series has picked up a number of awards since it was broadcast and has been praised for its sensitive and powerful telling of the experiences of the girls who were groomed in Rochdale in the child sex abuse cases. It was written by Nicole Taylor, produced by Susan Hogg, directed by Philippa Lowthorpe, and edited by Úna Ni Dhonghaile. Molly Windsor, the programme’s lead, picked up the Leading Actress Award.

Another programme which has been picking up multiple awards is BBC Three comedy, This Country. The series was co-written by and co-stars Charlie Cooper and 2017 WFTV New Talent Award winner, Daisy May Cooper. The show itself won the Scripted Comedy Award, whilst Daisy won the Female Performance in a Comedy Programme Award.

Many attendees at the ceremony wore the Time’s Up badge to show their solidarity with the movement to end sexual harassment and bullying in the creative industries.

Find out more about the Awards and see the full list of winners here.